Back to the Scottish Parliament Subordinate Legislation Committee Report
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports

SP Paper 616 Web Only


22nd Report, 2011 (Session 3)

Private Rented Housing (Scotland) Bill as amended at Stage 2

Remit and membership


1. The remit of the Subordinate Legislation Committee is to consider and report on-

(a) any-

(i) subordinate legislation laid before the Parliament;

(ii) Scottish Statutory Instrument not laid before the Parliament but classified as general according to its subject matter;

(iii) Pension or grants motion as described in Rule 8.11A.1;

and, in particular, to determine whether the attention of the Parliament should be drawn to any of the matters mentioned in Rule 10.3.1;

(b) proposed powers to make subordinate legislation in particular Bills or other proposed legislation;

(c) general questions relating to powers to make subordinate legislation; and

(d) whether any proposed delegated powers in particular Bills or other legislation should be expressed as a power to make subordinate legislation.

(Standing Orders of the Scottish Parliament, Rule 6.11)


Bob Doris (Deputy Convener)
Helen Eadie
Rhoda Grant
Alex Johnstone
Ian McKee
Elaine Smith
Jamie Stone (Convener)

Committee Clerking Team:

Clerk to the Committee
Irene Fleming

Assistant Clerk
Jake Thomas

Support Manager
Lori Gray

Private Rented Housing (Scotland) Bill as amended at Stage 2

The Committee reports to the Parliament as follows—

1. At its meetings on 8 March 2011, the Subordinate Legislation Committee considered the delegated powers provisions in the Private Rented Housing (Scotland) Bill as amended at Stage 2.  The Committee submits this report to the Parliament under Rule 9.7.9 of Standing Orders.

2. The Scottish Government provided the Parliament with a supplementary delegated powers memorandum on the provisions in the Bill (“the supplementary DPM”)1.

3. The Committee is content with the powers at sections: 17(7), 17B, 26A, 31(4), 31A and 31B.