28th Meeting, 2001 (Session 1)

Tuesday 18th December 2001



Brian Adam

David Davidson

Tom McCabe

Des McNulty (Convener)

Alasdair Morgan

Elaine Thomson

Apologies were received from Donald Gorrie.

Also present was Margo MacDonald.


The meeting opened at 10.29 am.


1. PFI/PPP Inquiry (in private): The Committee considered its lines of questioning for agenda items 3 and 5.

2. Items in Private: The Committee agreed to take agenda item 4 in private.

3. PFI/PPP Inquiry: The Committee took evidence from—

Professor Allyson Pollock, School of Public Policy, University College London;

Des Murray, Association for Public Service Excellence;

Paul O’Brien, Director, Association for Public Service Excellence;

Richard Blackburn, Director of Commercial Services, Dumfries and Galloway Council;

Professor Paul Grout, Director, Leverhulme Centre for Market

and Public Organisation, University of Bristol;

Geoff Haley, Chairman, International Project Finance Association.

The meeting was adjourned from 12.30 pm to 2.07 pm.

4. PFI/PPP Inquiry (in private): The Committee considered a paper by the Clerk and agreed to consider an options paper at its next meeting.

5. PFI/PPP Inquiry: The Committee took evidence from—

Tom Kelly, Chief Executive, Association of Scottish Colleges;

Andrew Gordon, Chief Executive, Canmore Partnerships;

Ian McDonald, Depute Director of Education Services, Glasgow City Council;

John Curley, Senior Education Officer, Glasgow City Council;

Keith Patterson, Partner, MacRoberts;

Sandy Bremner, Head of Public Private Partnership Unit, Miller Construction.

The Deputy Convener took the Chair.

6. Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body – Scottish Parliament Building Project: The Committee considered a letter from the Presiding Officer and took evidence from—

Paul Grice, Clerk and Chief Executive, Scottish Parliament;

Robert Brown MSP, Member, Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body;

Sarah Davidson, Project Director, Holyrood Project Team.


The meeting closed at 16.50 pm.

David McGill,
Acting Clerk to the Committee