Horizontal Rule Image



6th Meeting, 2003 (Session 2)

Wednesday 24 September 2003

Horizontal Rule Image


Sarah Boyack (Convener)

Mr Rob Gibson

Karen Gillon

Alex Johnstone

Maureen Macmillan

Mr Alasdair Morrison

Nora Radcliffe

Eleanor Scott (Deputy Convener)

Apologies: Roseanna Cunningham

The meeting opened at 10.04 am.

1.  Subordinate legislation: The Committee considered the following negative instrument—

The Inshore Fishing (Prohibition of Fishing and Fishing Methods) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2003 , (SSI 2003/404) .

The Committee agreed, being content with the instrument, to make no recommendation to the Parliament.

2.  Petitions: The Committee considered PE 541 and PE543 on landfill sites. The Committee heard evidence from—

Dr James S Buchanan and Paul Dumble, Roslin, Bilston and Auchendinny Community Group

Karen Whitefield MSP

Ann Coleman, Greengairs Environmental Forum.

The Committee agreed to follow up the issues raised by the petitioners with other witnesses throughout the National Waste Plan inquiry (including the Minister for Environment and Rural Development) and to address relevant issues in the inquiry report. The Committee also agreed to take forward issues relating to the regulation of noxious odours as part of its consideration of petition PE517. The Committee further agreed to write to the Public Petitions Committee inviting it to consider re-referring the petitions to the Communities Committee and the Health Committee in light of planning and health issues raised by the petitions.

On this basis the Committee agreed to conclude its consideration of petitions PE541 and PE543.

3.  National Waste Plan inquiry: The Committee heard evidence from—

Con Kerwin, Chairman, and Martin King, Secretary, Scottish Environmental Services Association

Dr Colin Clark and John Harris, Chartered Institution of Wastes Management

Douglas Boyle, Composting Association Scotland

Duncan Simpson , Chair, Recycling Market Development (Remade) Scotland

Steve Creed, Director of Business Development and Procurement, Waste and Resources Action Programme (WRAP)

Liz Partington, Head of Recycling, Lothian and Edinburgh Environmental Partnership (LEEP)

Stephen Cooper, Head of Environmental Services, Lerwick Waste to Energy Plant

Susan Carstairs, Development Officer, Lochaber Environmental Group.

The meeting closed at 12.54 pm


Tracey Hawe
Clerk to the Committee