Horizontal Rule Image



2nd Meeting, 2003 (Session 2)

Tuesday 25 June 2003

Horizontal Rule Image


Sarah Boyack (Convener)

Roseanna Cunningham

Mr Rob Gibson

Karen Gillon

Alex Johnstone

Maureen Macmillan

Mr Alasdair Morrison

Nora Radcliffe

Eleanor Scott (Deputy Convener)


The following members also attended: Brian Adam, Mr Richard Baker, Rhona Brankin, Mr Adam Ingram, Richard Lochhead, Mrs Nanette Milne, Jeremy Purvis, Mr John Home Robertson and John Scott.

The meeting opened at 9.53 am.

1. Declaration of Interests: The Convener invited Roseanna Cunningham to declare any relevant interests. Roseanna Cunningham had no such interests to declare.

2. Work programme: The Committee noted its forthcoming legislative commitments. The Committee also noted the likely workload in relation to petitions, subordinate legislation and budget scrutiny, and agreed to take no action on any petitions considered by its predecessor committees until they had been formally referred by the Public Petitions Committee.

The Committee agreed to conduct a brief inquiry into the National Waste Plan immediately after the summer recess, and to consider SPICe briefings on the National Waste Plan, sustainable development and the key themes of the 6th Environment Action Programme at the Committee away-day over the summer recess. It was also agreed that the Convener would circulate details of potential away-day venues to members shortly.

The Committee also agreed to invite the Minister for Environment and Rural Development to attend the first meeting of the Committee after the recess to set out his programme for implementation of the Executive's commitments as set out in "A Partnership for a Better Scotland" and to outline the results of the mid-term review of the Common Agricultural Policy.

3. Scottish Agricultural College: The Committee took evidence from-

Steve Tweed, Prospect Scotland

Dr Mark Hocart, Scottish Agricultural College (Edinburgh)

Charlotte Gilfillan, Student Representative

Peter Chapman, Save Craibstone Campaign

Brian Pack, The ANM Group

Cllr Andy Hill, South Ayrshire Council

William Campbell, Ayrshire NFU Scotland

John Allan, Midlothian Council

Professor Bill McKelvey, Scottish Agricultural College

Alasdair Laing, Scottish Agricultural College

Douglas Wynn, Deloitte & Touche

The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Environment and Rural Development and the Scottish Agricultural College highlighting various concerns raised by members during the course of the evidence taking session.

The meeting closed at 12.48 pm.

Tracey Hawe

Clerk to the Committee