Back to the Scottish Parliament Environment and Rural Development Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


16th Meeting, 2006 (Session 2)

Monday 15 May 2006


Sarah Boyack (Convener)
Rob Gibson
Maureen Macmillan
Nora Radcliffe

Mr Ted Brocklebank
Richard Lochhead
Mr Alasdair Morrison
Mr Mark Ruskell (Deputy Convener)

Apologies were received from Elaine Smith.

Also present: Fergus Ewing, John Farquhar Munro and Eleanor Scott.

The meeting opened at  2.01 pm.

  1. Crofting Reform etc. Bill: The Committee took evidence at Stage 1 from—

    Panel 1

    Cllr Richard Durham, Chair, Land and Environment Select Committee, Highland Council;

    George Campbell, Board Member, Highlands and Islands Enterprise;

    Allan MacRae, Chairman, Assynt Crofters’ Trust;
    Alistair Maciver, Area Representative, Scottish Crofting Foundation;

    Panel 2

    Shane Rankin, Chief Executive, David Green, Chairman and Drew Ratter, Board Member, Crofters Commission;

    Panel 3

    Keith Aitchison, and Jackie Forsyth, Branch Committee Scotland North, Public and Commercial Services Union (PCS) and Archie Macnab, Office Representative, Prospect Union, Crofters Commission staff; and

    Panel 4

    Rhona Brankin MSP, Deputy Minister for Environment and Rural Development; Shane Rankin, Crofting Reform etc. Bill Team Leader and Ethel Burt, Senior Principal Legal Officer, Scottish Executive Legal and Parliamentary Team.

The meeting closed at 5.29 pm.

Mark Brough
Clerk to the Committee