Back to the Scottish Parliament Environment and Rural Development Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


15th Meeting, 2006 (Session 2)

Wednesday 8 May 2006


Sarah Boyack (Convener)
Rob Gibson
Maureen Macmillan
Nora Radcliffe
Elaine Smith
Mr Ted Brocklebank
Richard Lochhead
Mr Alasdair Morrison
Mr Mark Ruskell (Deputy Convener)

Also present: Mr Jamie McGrigor and Dave Petrie

The meeting opened at  2.04 pm.

1. Declaration of interests: The new member of the Committee, Richard Lochhead, was invited to make a declaration of interests. Richard Lochhead indicated that he had no interests to declare.

2. Crofting Reform etc. Bill: The Committee took evidence at Stage 1 from—

Panel 1

Duncan Baird, Chartered Surveyor specialising in crofting, agricultural and community development;
Donald Linton, Argyll Mainland Representative and John MacKintosh, Member of Crofting Reform Working Group, Scottish Crofting Foundation;
Donald Macarthur, crofter, Isle of Tiree;

Panel 2

Lorne MacLeod, Director, Isle of Gigha Heritage Trust;
Ian Gillies, Tiree Factor, Argyll Estates; 

Panel 3

Iain Turnbull, Property Manager for Balmacara Estate, National Trust for Scotland;
Ross Lilley, Area Officer, Mull, Coll and Tiree, Scottish Natural Heritage;
Nigel Hawkins, Director, John Muir Trust;

Panel 4

Audrey Martin, Senior Planning/Development Officer, Argyll and Bute Council;
Ken Abernethy, Chief Executive, Argyll and the Islands Enterprise; and
Maf Smith, Chief Executive, Scottish Renewables Forum.

The meeting closed at 5.59 pm. 

Mark Brough
Clerk to the Committee