Back to the Scottish Parliament Environment and Rural Development Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


7th Meeting, 2006 (Session 2)

Wednesday 1 March 2006


Sarah Boyack (Convener)
Rob Gibson
Maureen Macmillan 
Nora Radcliffe

Mr Ted Brocklebank
Trish Godman (Committee substitute)
Mr Alasdair Morrison
Eleanor Scott (Committee substitute)

Apologies were received from Richard Lochhead, Mr Mark Ruskell (Deputy Convener) and Elaine Smith.

The meeting opened at 10.06 am.

1. Inquiry into developments in the biomass industry: The Committee took evidence from— 

Panel 1
Willie McGhee, Managing Director, Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Management;
Flavia Pigot, Woodland Task Force Convener, Scottish Environment LINK;
Bruno Berardelli, Director, Highland Wood Energy;
Chris Stockton, General Director, Buccleuch BioEnergy;

Panel 2
John Picken, Chairman of the Biofuels Working Group, NFU Scotland;
Jonathan Hall, Head of Rural Policy, Scottish Rural Property and Business Association; and
Patrick Krause, Chief Executive, Scottish Crofting Foundation.

2. Scottish Water: The Committee considered issues relating to the governance of Scottish Water. The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Environment and Rural Development seeking further information on the current position in relation to the development of Scottish Water’s investment programme and to take evidence from the Minister at a future meeting of the Committee.

The meeting closed at 11:52 am.

Mark Brough
Clerk to the Committee