Back to the Scottish Parliament Environment and Rural Development Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


27th Meeting, 2005 (Session 2)

Wednesday 2 November 2005


Sarah Boyack (Convener)
Rob Gibson
Maureen Macmillan 
Nora Radcliffe
Elaine Smith
Mr Ted Brocklebank
Richard Lochhead
Mr Alasdair Morrison
Mr Mark Ruskell (Deputy Convener)

Also present: Mr Jamie McGrigor, John Farquhar Munro, Mike Pringle and Mr Jamie Stone.

The meeting opened at 10.04 am.

1. Environmental Levy on Plastic Bags (Scotland) Bill: The Committee took evidence at Stage 1, by video-link, from—

John Medley, Assistant Principal Officer, Collector-General's Division, Office of the Revenue Commissioners, Government of Ireland;
John Curran, Group Environmental Executive, Musgrave Group, Cork; and
Sean O'Suilleabhain, Waste Prevention and Recovery Section, Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, Government of Ireland.

2. Subordinate legislation: The Committee considered the following negative instruments—

the Plant Breeders’ Rights (Discontinuation of Prior Use Exemption) (Scotland) Order 2005, (SSI 2005/460);
the TSE (Scotland) Amendment (No.2) Regulations 2005, (SSI 2005/469); and
the Reporting of Prices of Milk Products (Scotland) Regulations 2005, (SSI 2005/484).

The Committee agreed, being content with the instruments, to make no recommendation to the Parliament.

3. Items in private: The Committee agreed to consider evidence received to date on the Environmental Levy on Plastic Bags (Scotland) Bill in private at its next meeting. The Committee also agreed to consider a draft report on the Bill in private at future meetings.

4. Crofting: The Committee took evidence on issues arising from the Scottish Executive’s consultation on a draft Crofting Reform (Scotland) Bill from—

Rhona Brankin MSP, Deputy Minister for Environment and Rural Development.

The Deputy Minister agreed to write to the Committee with further information on a number of issues raised during discussion.

The meeting closed at 12.39 pm. 

Mark Brough
Clerk to the Committee