Back to the Scottish Parliament Environment and Rural Development Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


18th Meeting, 2005 (Session 2)

Monday 13 June 2005


Sarah Boyack (Convener)
Alex Johnstone
Maureen Macmillan
Mr Mark Ruskell (Deputy Convener)

Rob Gibson
Richard Lochhead
Nora Radcliffe

Also present: Mr John Swinney.

Apologies were received from Karen Gillon and Mr Alasdair Morrison.

The meeting opened at 2.01 pm.

1. Inquiry into rural development: The Committee took evidence from —

Panel 1

Andrew Bruce-Wootton, Deputy Chairman and General Manager of the Atholl Estate, Scottish Estates Business Group;

Richard Cooke, Dalhousie Estates;

Mai Hearne , Chair, Angus Rural Partnership;

Mark Johnston , Angus Glens Website;

Panel 2

John Burt, Principal, Angus College;

Anne Mitchell, City of Brechin Partnership;

Mark Taylor, Chair of Brechin Business Association;

John Forster, Managing Director, Forster Roofing;

Panel 3

Mai Hearne , Chief Officer, Angus Association of Voluntary Organisations;

George Allan, Head of Service, Angus Citizens’ Advice Bureau;

Dr E Cohen, Brechin Day Care Ltd; and

Panel 4

Sandy Watson, Chief Executive, Angus Council;

Shona Cormack, Chief Executive, Scottish Enterprise Tayside;

Callum McNicholl, Social Justice Manager, Communities Scotland.

The meeting closed at 4.58 pm.

Mark Brough
Clerk to the Committee