Back to the Scottish Parliament Environment and Rural Development Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


17th Meeting, 2005 (Session 2)

Wednesday 8 June 2005


Sarah Boyack (Convener)
Karen Gillon
Richard Lochhead
Mr Alasdair Morrison
Mr Mark Ruskell (Deputy Convener)

Rob Gibson
Alex Johnstone
Maureen Macmillan
Nora Radcliffe

The meeting opened at 10.02 am.

1. Inquiry into rural development: The Committee took evidence from —

James Knowles, Head of Economic Development, Aberdeenshire Council;
Tony Fitzpatrick, Group Manager for Economic Regeneration, Dumfries and Galloway Council;
Norma Graham, Fife Rural Partnership;
Councillor Ian Ross, Chair of Sustainable Development Select Committee and Area Transport, Environmental and Community Service Committee, Highland Council;
Councillor Alan Livingstone, Convener, Enterprise and Infrastructure Committee, Perth and Kinross Council;
Ian Lindley, Director of Planning and Economic Development, Scottish Borders Council;
Nick Larkin, Head of Enterprise and Development, South Ayrshire Council;
Gordon Todd, Economic Development Manager, South Lanarkshire Council; and
Ian Fraser, Head of Economic Development, Stirling Council.

2. Subordinate legislation: The Committee considered the following negative instrument—

the Common Agricultural Policy Single Farm Payment and Support Schemes ( Scotland) Amendment Regulations 2005 (SSI 2005/257).

The Committee agreed, being content with the instrument, to make no recommendation to the Parliament.

The meeting closed at 12.00 noon.

Mark Brough
Clerk to the Committee