Back to the Scottish Parliament Environment and Rural Development Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


11th Meeting, 2005 (Session 2)

Wednesday 20 April 2005


Sarah Boyack (Convener)

Rob Gibson

Karen Gillon

Richard Lochhead

Maureen Macmillan

Mr Alasdair Morrison

Nora Radcliffe Mr Mark Ruskell (Deputy Convener)

Apologies were received from Alex Johnstone.

The meeting opened at 10.31 am.

1. Environmental Assessment (Scotland) Bill: The Committee took evidence at Stage 1 from—

Panel 1

Professor Colin T Reid, Professor of Environmental Law, University of Dundee;
Dr Elsa Joao, Director of Research, Graduate School of Environmental Studies, University of Strathclyde;
David Tyldesley, Principal, David Tyldesley and Associates;

Panel 2

Councillor Alison Hay, Environment, Sustainability and Community Safety Spokesperson, COSLA;
John Rennilson, Director of Planning and Development, Highland Council, COSLA;
Kathy Cameron, Policy Manager, COSLA; and
Iain Sherriff, Head of Transportation, Dundee City Council, representing the Society of Chief Officers of Transportation in Scotland.

2. Subordinate legislation : The Committee considered the following negative instruments—

the Agricultural Subsidies (Appeals) (Scotland) Amendment Regulations 2005, (SSI 2005/117);

the Inshore Fishing (Prohibition of Fishing for Cockles) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2005, (SSI 2005/140); and

the Common Agricultural Policy Single Farm Payment and Support Schemes (Scotland) Regulations 2005, (SSI 2005/143);

and took evidence from the following Scottish Executive officials on SSI 2005/143 —

Linda Rosborough, Head of CAP Management Division, SEERAD; and
Paul Neison, Assistant Chief Agricultural Officer, SEERAD.

The Committee agreed , being content with the instruments, to make no recommendation to the Parliament.

3. Inquiry into climate change (in private): The Committee considered a further draft report and agreed a number of changes. The Committee agreed to consider a further draft at its next meeting.

The meeting closed at 1.07 pm. 

Mark Brough
Clerk to the Committee