Back to the Scottish Parliament Business Bulletin No. 3/2010: Thursday 7 January 2010
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports

Contents An A B C D E F G H I J

Section G – Bills

Members’ Bills Proposals

A Member who has lodged a proposal has the right to introduce a Member’s Bill to give effect to that proposal under Rule 9.14.12 of the Standing Orders provided:

  • the proposal has attracted 18 supporters which include members of at least half of the political parties or groups represented on the Parliamentary Bureau; and

  • the Scottish Executive has not given an indication under Rule 9.14.13 that it or Her Majesty’s Government will initiate legislation to give effect to the proposal.

A proposal (whether draft or final) may be withdrawn at any time by the member who lodged it under Rule 9.14.16 of the Standing Orders.

The Bills page of the parliamentary website shows the current status in this regard.

Names marked with an (*) are new names of support.

Final Proposal for Members’ Bills

Hugh Henry MSP: Proposed Workers (Aggravated Offences) (Scotland) Bill - Proposal for a Bill to create a specific offence of attacking a worker who in the course of their work has face to face contact with the public (lodged 9 December 2009).

A summary of responses to consultation on the draft proposal together with copies of each response are available in the Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe).

Supported by: Malcolm Chisholm, Bill Kidd, Marlyn Glen, Duncan McNeil, Mr Frank McAveety, Richard Baker, James Kelly, Trish Godman, Helen Eadie, Elaine Murray, Claire Baker, Cathie Craigie, Paul Martin, Karen Gillon, Ken Macintosh, Lewis Macdonald, Ms Wendy Alexander, Elaine Smith, Dr Richard Simpson, Marilyn Livingstone, Irene Oldfather, Cathy Peattie, Bill Wilson, Rhoda Grant, Robin Harper*, Karen Whitefield*, Johann Lamont*, Patricia Ferguson*, Cathy Jamieson*, Jackie Baillie*, Sarah Boyack*, Peter Peacock*, Bill Butler*, Jack McConnell*, Mary Mulligan*, John Wilson*, John Park*, George Foulkes*, Des McNulty*, Charlie Gordon*, Pauline McNeill*, Tom McCabe*, David Stewart*, Margaret Curran*

Contents An A B C D E F G H I J