Back to the Scottish Parliament Business Bulletin No. 147/2009: Tuesday 6 October 2009
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports

Contents An A B C D E F G H I J

Section G – Bills

Members’ Bills Proposals

A Member who has lodged a proposal has the right to introduce a Member’s Bill to give effect to that proposal under Rule 9.14.12 of the Standing Orders provided:

  • the proposal has attracted 18 supporters which include members of at least half of the political parties or groups represented on the Parliamentary Bureau; and
  • the Scottish Executive has not given an indication under Rule 9.14.13 that it or Her Majesty’s Government will initiate legislation to give effect to the proposal.

A proposal (whether draft or final) may be withdrawn at any time by the member who lodged it under Rule 9.14.16 of the Standing Orders.

The Bills page of the parliamentary website shows the current status in this regard.

Names marked with an (*) are new names of support.

Final Proposal for Members’ Bills

David Stewart MSP: Proposed Victims’ Commissioner (Scotland) Bill - Proposal for a Bill to provide for the establishment and functions of a Victims’ Commissioner for Scotland (lodged 8 September 2009).

A summary of responses to consultation on the draft proposal together with copies of each response are available in the Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe).

Supported by: Paul Martin, Jamie Stone, John Farquhar Munro, Margo MacDonald, Charlie Gordon, Bill Butler, Duncan McNeil, John Park, Pauline McNeill, Rhoda Grant, Michael McMahon, Lewis Macdonald, Elaine Murray, Frank McAveety, Peter Peacock, Richard Baker, Elaine Smith, James Kelly, Richard Simpson, Malcolm Chisholm, Cathy Jamieson, Mary Mulligan, David Whitton, Sarah Boyack, Wendy Alexander, Tom McCabe, Helen Eadie, Andy Kerr, Ken Macintosh, George Foulkes, Irene Oldfather, Jackie Baillie, Cathie Craigie, Marilyn Livingstone, Claire Baker, Cathy Peattie, Rhona Brankin, Karen Gillon, Jack McConnell, Margaret Curran

Contents An A B C D E F G H I J